Sweaty Palms play this Friday at the Scottish Alternative Music Awards Paisley Takeover. They headline Friday nights event at The Bungalow alongside Crystal and Pleasure Heads. 2019’s festival will take place at Paisley Arts Centre, and The Bungalow, tickets on sale now from Eventbrite UK, & Paisley Arts Centre. See the event link below for full details


FREAKENDER might be flying the flag for Glasgow’s DIY, garage, psych, rock n’ roll whatever, over in Austin at SXSW but we got to hold it down for our people in Glasgow! While we’re at Burgermainia at Hotel Vegas you can simultaneously be at The Burger Revoultion at Sleazys! Yes we’ve teamed up with Burger Records to co-host this one so now you know it’s a doosy!

Feels return to Scotland after they headlined our 1st Freakender Festival back 2016. The Los Angeles melodic noise punk quartet bring back riff-heavy, atmospheric jams, garage-psych and goofy rave-ups while addressing awareness and action against hate, prejudice, greed, the destruction of our environment. With their second album ‘Post Earth’ (Witicha) the L.A. band have hit their stride bridging the gap between punk and pop effortlessly with grippling energy and infectiousness.

Support comes from Sweaty Palms who you’ll know from round these parts and new to us playing their debut Freakender showPot Nudos.

RSVP here:


I just used some Coronation Street click bait to draw you internet crawling suckers in, it’s all fake, no one returns. In fact The Roves, El Rancho’s current crush play their debut Scottish show in Glasgow at Mono tomorrow night, Saturday 2nd March. Close friends will no doubt have been given the lowdown on The Roves over the past few months but if not here’s a quick recap…

The Roves debut S/T album came out last May but El Rancho only discovered the band in November, after an email from the band with a rough three minute You Tube clip of them playing live. There was something in that clip which lead to seeking out further info. After hearing the first two songs I was drawn in and by the end gobsmacked! Since then the album has been rinsed on a daily basis and it’s even on now as I type this!

Needless to say El Rancho and Mono are super excited to have the band playing tomorrow and we urge you to tell your friends and come down. For fans of great British rock n roll, with 60’s guitar pop music at the forefront then The Roves are the band to ignite that spirit in your soul. You’ll be relieved to know the art of songwriting is alive and in good hands! Think early Beatles, Nick Lowe, The La’s, Merseybeat…

Check the event page for more info


Mike Storey of The Izzys and Slings & Arrows fame is a NYC based and Baltimore bred musical vagabond with many tricks up his sleeve and maybe a few screws loose! After completing his latest set of songs Mike had a floating thought about flying to Glasgow and recording an album and releasing it in two weeks! Well, as mad as it sounds he’s just gone and did it!

Recruiting a few close Glaswegian musician friends including Jon Yuill, David Stone, Gareth Jamieson, Conor Smith alongside London based Stephen EvEns, Mike began collaborating and fleshing out the songs into what has become Cowboy Calypso. Released on bandcamp the eight track S/T album is full of fun catchy songs, surrealist strains against sing-along chants, haunting folk-music, experimental nonsense, funky synths and pedal steel. Try it out…

Cowboy Calypso comes alive tonight at The Rum Shack as the project launches the album with full band, choir and other surprises. A marvellous group of musicians will take to the stage for their 9pm performance. Support comes from WomenSaid and Stephen EvEns who also played part in the main project.

This is an early show with doors at 7pm till 10pm. Check the event page below for more details.


It’s time! Our SXSW party is out the bag! We’re super psyched to be hosting an official SXSW Showcase and day party at the world infamous Hotel Vegas in Austin, Texas this year for the second year running. The all day event will host 11 acts including Warmdusher, Annabelle Chairlegs, Rascalton, Iguana Death Cult, Lucia, The Gooch Palms, Fruit Tones, Gnarcissists, Teddy and The Rough Riders, The Blank Tapes and Melenas!

The event named Freakender Buckaroo Ball will be split into two parts; The free day party from 2pm-7pm, which is a open to everyone and anyone with or without SXSW badges or wristbands; and the night time event from 7pm till 2am which is our Official SXSW Showcase. You must be a SXSW badge holder or wristband user to gain priority access though $10 door tickets are available depending on capacity.

Check all the details plus links to all the acts playing the ball!